2013 Steelers 53 Man Roster Projection

Pittsburgh_Steelers_throwback_helmet_2007

I thought I would give this a try of projecting Pittsburgh Steelers 53 man roster. Bleacher Report has recently wrote their projection, and I had to disagree with them. I thought, why not just make my own up and laugh later of how I got it right and how I got it wrong.

QB

1. BEN ROETHLISBERGER
2. BRUCE GRADKOWSKI
3. LANDRY JONES

RB

4. LE’VON BELL
5. JONATHAN DWYER
6. LAROD STEPHENS-HOWLING

FB

7. WILL JOHNSON

WR

8. ANTONIO BROWN
9. EMMANUEL SANDERS
10. MARKUS WHEATON
11. PLAXICO BURRESS
12. JERRICHO COTCHERY

TE

13. H. MILLER
14. MATT SPAETH
15. DAVID JOHNSON
16. DAVID PAULSON

LT

17. MIKE ADAMS
18. MAX STARKS

LG

19. RAMON FOSTER

C

20. MAUKICE POUNCEY
21. MIKE GOLIC JR.

RG

22. DAVID DECASTRO

RT

23. MARCUS GILBERT
24. KELVIN BEACHUM

LE

25. ZIGGY HOOD
26. AL WOODS

DT

27. STEVEN MCLENDON
28. CASEY HAMPTON
29. ALAMEDA TA’AMU

RE

30. BRETT KEISEL
31. CAMERON HEYWARD

LOLB

32. LAMARR WOODLEY
33. CHRIS CARTER

MLB

34. LARRY FOOTE
35. STEVENSON SYLVESTER

RILB

36. LAWRENCE TIMMONS
37. MARSHALL MCFADDEN

ROLB
38. JASON WORILDS
39. JARVIS JONES
40. ADRIAN ROBINSON JR.

CB

41. IKE TAYLOR
42. CORTEZ ALLEN
43. WILLIAM GAY
44. DEMARCUS VAN DYKE
45. JOSH VICTORIAN

SS

46. TROY POLAMALU
47. SHAMARKO THOMAS
48. DAMON CROMARTIE-SMITH

FS

49. RYAN CLARK
50. ROBERT GOLDEN

K

51. SHAUN SUISHAM

P

52. DREW BUTLER

LS

53. GREG WARREN

IR—– SEAN SPENCE

PRACTICE SQUAD

BARON BATCH, JUSTIN BROWN, DAVID GILREATH, NICK WILLIAMS, VINCE WILLIAM, CHARLIE BATCH, TERRY HAWTHORNE, HEBRON FANGUPO

Key Notes:

I know this is so early but this is just a guess. So now, the key notes of why I believe this is the outcome.

Landry Jones will be the future quarterback for the Steelers. I don’t think Steelers would risk putting Jones on the practice squad. That leaves Charlie on the practice squad there to coach Jones during the week and on Sundays. No team would take a chance to pick up Batch. So that is my feeling of why Batch will be on practice squad. A long shot, but it might happen.

Why is Isaac Redman off my list? His performance decline last year and showed once again he is injury prone. Yes Jonathan Dwyer is as well, but Dwyer had more yards and was the leader rusher for the team. Dwyer performance seems to go higher every year with the team while Redman performance seems to be on a decline. What gives Dwyer the edge is Dwyer performance raising and experience due to the fact he is able to stay on the field more than Redman. I personally don’t see Steelers keeping one of these backs with the signing of Bell. The rumor though was Dwyer almost got dealt during the NFL Draft. I think though it will be Redman getting dealt before preseason is over to another team for next year draft pick.

Todd Haley really wanted to use Chris Rainey speed and of course he is no longer on the team. Baron Batch is quick, but does not seem to be anymore than a third string running back. It always seemed Batch would just run right into the blockers. If there was an opening Batch would miss the opening because of rushing with the play. I don’t believe Batch used his speed to his advantage. The only reason for this to happen would be Batch not being patient and letting the blockers do their job. This means for me, Larod Stephens-Howling will be replacing Batch for third string. That would force Batch to practice squad.

Max Starks was the only player to play all of the 16 games last year. Starks brings not only leadership, but experience to left and right tackle. Steelers will sign Starks at the minimum salary. Note that!

BIG SNACK, Casey Hampton making the team again! That is right, NOTE THAT! Sure it can happen because of depth. We have no clue who and what Alameda Ta’amu is about. I am saying that because Ta’amu never even played one down yet in the NFL. High potential is Steven McLendon but to me over rated at this point. Maybe he will play more snaps and show me his potential but according to his skills he has shown, I don’t see his true talent. When McLendon can take up space and have two offense guys guard him than I will be happy. Casey Hampton is old but still has two guys defending him and that lets the MLB and OLB able to do what they need to do. So, that is why I was so into drafting a nose tackle early in the draft.

This is the hardest thing to talk about for me is the cornerback position. After Ike Taylor and Cortez Allen it is truly up for grabs. So thinking long and hard, I finally made a decision. I think Curtis Brown will be cut as well Justin King. I look for Josh Victorian and DeMarcus Van Dyke to hold a depth chart spot. Terry Hawthorne would drop to the practice squad. The coaches were impressed of Josh Victorian short time playing last year and yes, he was beaten in two games but that was old rust. So I am sure the readers are saying “Oh whatever, Curtis Brown will not be cut?” Maybe not, but dag he gets beat a lot and no speed to catch up to the play. One thing for sure he can never play cornerback in replace of Taylor and Allen. Just watch him play one on one with good wide receivers. The point to make is that Brown is not even jumping out of coverage to intercept the ball. He is just out of coverage already before the ball is even in the air. After being with us this long he should be making progress and I feel he is on a down slide.

Well, that should sum up my opinion. Please note that I don’t hate or dislike any Steelers player. That would include the players that have been arrested or any other issues. I just might hate their decisions they made in life. I will always have the passion as all Steelers fans have. No matter if they are a past or present player I am like a five year old kid at a toy store. Just smiling when talking with them or meeting them. I really love writing about the Steelers and I hope you all enjoy reading about the Steelers.

God bless always….

Leave a Reply

